add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Game Dev/Software Dev Machine

darthfutuza
  • 23 months ago

Hello folks, been a while since I've been looking at the PC market so I could use some tips. :)

I'm a software developer looking to upgrade my personal machine. I generally use visual studio (mostly C++) and Unreal Engine for work/hobby stuff as well as a couple of other things occasionally like Blender, GIMP, or the Adobe Suite. Therefore, having several cores and lots of threads is a must for this build, but I also like playing games (hence the CPU choice) and don't want to sacrifice clock speed too much. I've given myself a budget of $2000 and as you can see I'm a little over, wanted to see if anyone has any suggestions without compromising too much. I'm in the United States, and won't need an OS or peripherals (though if you can find a nice 140hz monitor with a decent resolution and size that'd be a cool bonus). I'm not set on the 1080ti, but they're kinda nice. I also have a bit of time to sit on this so if you can suggest a better time to look at the market, that would also be a helpful.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU AMD - Threadripper 1920X 3.5GHz 12-Core Processor $668.90 @ Amazon
CPU Cooler Corsair - H100i v2 70.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler $94.99 @ Newegg
Motherboard ASRock - X399 Taichi ATX TR4 Motherboard $323.98 @ Newegg
Memory G.Skill - Ripjaws V Series 16GB (1 x 16GB) DDR4-2800 Memory $165.98 @ Newegg
Storage Samsung - 860 Evo 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $120.90 @ Amazon