add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Need help to find out if cooler is compliant with my motherboard and cpu ( im new at this)

orlandoblyat

9 months ago

Cooler: http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/cpu-air-cooler/hyper-212-led/ Motherboard: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-B360-G-GAMING/ Cpu: Intel i3-8100 BOX Coffee Lake Any help would be wonderful.

Comments

• 9 months ago
  • 1 point

Well that cooler will fit on that motherboard just fine but as it is just an i3-8100 it's stock cooler is more than ample to keep it within its safe thermal limit and work well. Though a 212 evo is not that expensive and if it is purely for aesthetics then it is your choice. If you want lower noise a be quiet pure rock slim is several db lower in noise from the 212 evo and still costs less than $30 USD. It is a bit smaller than the 212evo but it is more effective at cooling than the Intel stock cooler which is already good enough for that CPU.

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/hyQRsY/be-quiet-pure-rock-slim-351-cfm-cpu-cooler-bk008

As for compatibility of a cooler will fit you do have to look at the case. The hyper 212 evo needs 160 mm of clearance from the CPU to the side of the case to fit and the pure rock slim only needs 125 mm. The stock cooler is even shorter and will fit in 99.99% of cases out on the market (I'm sure there has to be one out there that doesnt lol). I am sure others may post some other perfectly fine budget air coolers as options too but this is my 2 cents.

• 9 months ago
  • 1 point