add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

I want to upgrade old pc but struggling to choose cpu and mobo

Jumpcut81

7 months ago

hello

so I want to upgrade old pc but struggling to choose cpu and mobo. Currently I have a I7 2600k and want to upgrade to a 9700k or maybe a 9900k. I have already bought the dark rock pro 4 recently so I want to stay with air cooling. For the mobo, I hesitate between Asus ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming or GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO . I would like to OC in the future but I am a totally noob. I already have the gpu (RTX 2080) and the psu (corsair rm750x). My case is a Fractal r4 with only 2 be quiet silent wing 3 fan, one front and one at the back.

Mainly it would be for gaming but I am a video editor and I want to be able to work at home occasionally.

I would really appreciate it if someone can help me with this.

thank you!

Comments

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point

Location and budget please. Do you have access to a microcenter store?

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point

I am in Canada (Quebec) and probably will buy on Newegg. My budget is around 1200-1400$ CAD. I forgot to say that I need ram (16go) and I would like to include something like an EVO 960 1TB.

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point

What kind of monitor do you have? (Res, refresh rate, size)

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point

not sure the model but it's an Asus 1440p 75hz(oc) IPS

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point