add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

120mm Fan Case

mfctrouble

4 months ago

Hi all I am quite new to customizing PC's and my apologizes if this question is in the wrong section

Recently one of my fans went out so I purchased a new one.

I seen at the bottom of my case there is a space for a fan, but after some research, most agree that a fan at the bottom of a case is a bad idea, so I got to thinking I would like to light my PC up a bit and thought I would use my old fan (with the blades removed) and place some led lights inside and cover it up with a custom fan cover. The old fan I had was transparent, but I would like to have it black, so my question is, without going out and buying a new black fan and removing the middle, is there anything that I can buy that would do this job? I have searched about quite a bit for "fan enclosures" "Fan Parts" etc... but the closet thing I have seen is the rubber fan gaskets and they would work okay but there are no holes for screws, the other option I seen was the Silverstone SST-FG122 but my PC don't have the right connections for it and I just want one color light, any help would be appreciated very much

Comments

• 4 months ago
  • 1 point

To clarify: One of your fans broke, and you bought a replacement, and now you want to use your non-functional fan as a light-source? In addition, the old non-functional fan is transparent, and you would prefer it to be black? I'm not sure what you're asking so feel free to correct me.

Seems like a waste of time and money to buy other parts for something like this. Have you considered an LED strip?