add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Would this build work? The power supply is worrying me.

TheRabster1428

2 months ago

https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/TheRabster1428/saved/CyrsZL

I'm afraid that 900W might be too much or too less, I want it to be how it is, except as cheap as possible at the same time, I don't want to mess up on the power supply. The estimated wattage is not accurate and other websites are pretty complicated and I don't know how to use them that well as I'm new to this. I used a website which gave me around 850W while I was missing stuff I didn't understand.

Comments

• 2 months ago
  • 2 points

550w would be plenty with room to spare. Put a 550w Seasonic Focus Gold into it, for under CA$100, and use the difference towards adding an SSD into your build. The Corsair RMx mentioned by root_user is a good one as well.

• 2 months ago
  • 1 point

I'm afraid that 900W might be too much or too less

Except for "overpaying," too much is generally not a problem with most high-quality units these days. Running a unit too close to its rating or too far below can make for less-than-ideal efficiency, but it's not a big deal with a good modern PSU. (Sometimes units of the same line with higher power ratings will have slightly more aggressive fan curves, but it depends on the particular PSUs.)

I used a website which gave me around 850W while I was missing stuff I didn't understand.

PSU calculators tend to be very inaccurate. You don't need an 850W+ unit for your linked build. That Solid Gear 900W unit also doesn't seem that reputable.

Here's an alternative: