add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Need PSU Opinions

theultikirby

1 month ago

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/HK4L8Y

Corsair - TXM Gold 550 W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-modular ATX Power Supply

I just need a few opinions on if the PSU I selected is going to be enough. This is my first build in a long time. I do not know if I will overclock the CPU, GPU, or RAM yet. I plan to double my RAM in the future, add some fans (120 mm or 140 mm, not sure yet), and a Wi-Fi card. possibly. I want to have enough room for upgrades down the line.

I selected 80+ gold to keep the amount of heat from the PSU down. Should I go with bronze to lower my cost? Your thoughts?

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

Just to confirm, are you buying from the United States?

If so, then for the same cost or less, you can get a 550W fully modular 80+ gold PSU with quality components.

I recommend you consider: https://pcpartpicker.com/products/compare/qYTrxr,sMM323,bkp323,bqVD4D/

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

I am. Yes, thank you for your advise. The one thing that continuously throws me off about the newer power supplies is the 18 + 10 power connections. Am I correct in inferring 24 pins go to the motherboard power and 4 are for the CPU?

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

The 18+10pin PSU connector is just for the motherboard 24pin cable. It has 28pins for the PSU socket, and 24pins for the motherboard socket. Some of the pins contain two wires for better voltage regulation, that's why the numbers aren't equal.

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

Alright, just as I expected. Thank you.

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point