add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Do I need a hdd with an ssd?

DoNotStart

5 months ago

Like what the title says. Im just a beginner and planning my first build but do I need a hdd if i have a ssd?

Comments

• 5 months ago
  • 1 point

but do I need a hdd if i have a ssd?

As in needing it so your pc works... no.

Getting the HDD will depend on your space requirements for all your data (videos, photos, movies, music, games, etc..). :)

If you have a large ssd which is sufficient for all your data then no... In my case, I have a small SSD, so I used to store all my data on a 2tb HDD which now is dead with all my information gone. So now I can only install a few games as my ssd is almost full.

• 5 months ago
  • 1 point

+1 to the above, I have a 256GB kingston SSD which I loaded windows and most of my programs that interact with the windows registry.

I have a 2TB WD BLACK HDD that I put all of my games on. New AAA games are close to 50GB, so it wont take many games to fill up your SSD. Adding another drive is literally as easy as plugging in power and attaching a SATA cable.

I even salvaged an old 256GB HDD from my ancient laptop, plug and play no problems.

• 5 months ago
  • 1 point

If you can fit everything you need onto SSD's, that's preferable. With current SSD pricing, I'd say that if your games / photos / music / whatever adds up to much over 1 TB, you probably want to get a hard drive because of cost. 1 TB and under you are better off going all SSD for performance and reliability.

• 5 months ago
  • 1 point