add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is the EVGA br 500w reliable?

Bryson09215

1 month ago

I am new to pc building and am trying to get a psu that is at least 400w and not too expensive. I came across the EVGA br 500w, and would like to know if it is safe and reliable. Here is my build: https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Bryson09215/saved/#view=3rLskL

Any pointers or recommendations are appreciated!

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

Haven’t seen much in the way of reviews for that unit, so I’d probably get this instead

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/FdRFf7/corsair-cx-2017-550w-80-bronze-certified-atx-power-supply-cp-9020121-na

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

From what we've seen of the unit in photos, I think the BR is OK. Unfortunately there haven't been any good teardown reviews, at least none I know about.

Your build is very low power draw compared to most, and I wouldn't be afraid of putting a BR into it.

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

A unit with no reviews and a 30°C temperature rating? Probably crap.

like ImperiousBattlestar said the cx550 from corsair is a good psu.

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

The only downside is, it's rated at 30°C and it has a sleeve bearing fan.

The first one is very common for a low end unit, but that doesn't apply to the fan. EVGA could go with a better fan.

However that's a cheap unit, so yeah a better fan would raise the price most probably.

On the bright side, it uses DC-DC converters on the minor rails, and has all available safety features like...

Over Current Protection

Short Circuit Protection

Over Temperature Protection