add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First PC Build $2,000-$2,500 Budget

BSXBoreinglyfun

1 month ago

I’m new to pc building, and only have a laptop to game with. Want to get a desktop and use it for gaming, and also use it for VR. Don’t need to include VR equipment into the build. Will a $2,000-$2,500 budget be good?

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

I'd at least check the various "build guides". Some of the names include "excellent game build" at the $1100 range, "Enthusiast" at the $1500 range, and "magnificent" at the $2400 level. By $2500 they are pretty much looking for places to spend money... https://pcpartpicker.com/guide/

I'd step back a bit and ask what you need.

VR is a big issue, and depending on what headset you choose that could mean up to 2k (x2 per eye) at 90+ fps. I doubt that it requires a 1080ti, but a "game build" will typically spend most of the money in the GPU.

To be honest, the monitor you choose is a great place to start (and head back to and change when you don't like the computer that fits it). What resolution and framerate do you want? Extreme framerates typically pull to Intel builds, or at least require the highest clocked Ryzens. Anything else will work fine with almost any CPU, although I'd recommend at least a 3600 for enough cores/threads.

Resolution x framerate also tells you a lot about how much GPU you will need. And VR wants some significant framerates (unless you are going with a ~$120 hp windows mixed reality special at Microcenter. They are capped at 60fps, but probably not what you want with that budget).