add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

is watercooling needed and trustworthy?

cavemanpc

79 months ago

so this is my current build:

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/user/cavemanpc/saved/1twb

I'm planning on building my first computer (4 months down the line, still saving the rest of the money), it will be used for both photo editing and gaming , mainly guild wars 2 was the motivation to build a computer as my current will not run it.

I am new to everything and was wondering how much better a water cooling cpu heatsink would be vs fan, at the moment I have my eye on a Coolermaster Hyper 412S, but I could pick up a corsair water cooled for around the same price (H50 i think).

My only worry being are they reliable or can they leak and destroy your components?, because this is a big investment as I am a unemployed student.

any help much appreciated :)

Comments

• 79 months ago
  • 1 point

As long as the cooler is closed loop (not custom water cooling), yes it is generally worth is if you want cooler temps.

• 79 months ago
  • 1 point

so the H40 or 50 would be a better choice? also I may try overclocking to 4.5 , if this makes any difference?

• 79 months ago
  • 1 point

so the H40 or 50 would be a better choice? also I may try overclocking to 4.5 , if this makes any difference?

• 79 months ago
  • 1 point

H50

• 79 months ago
  • 1 point

Get an H60, the H50 is outdated.

• 79 months ago
  • 1 point