add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Need some expert opinions thanks

XiKuma
  • 57 months ago

Im building my first gaming pc, and wondering which of these routes on storage sound better. First 120 SSD for OS then later upgrade to another ssd for games when it gets low (which i know will be very quick) Second 1tb HHD for now and down the road transfer OS over to an upgraded SSD when i have the money. My main concerns are how hard is it to transfer OS over, will steam be an issue since i heard steam and steam games share the same drive. Idk maybe a slightly dumb question. Its my first build so def want as few regrets as possible. Im also hooked on the idea of having my OS on ssd for quick loads. Thank you.

Comments

• 57 months ago
  • 3 points

...My main concerns are how hard is it to transfer OS over...

Depending on cloning software used, should be relatively easy when cloning from small size drive to same/larger size drive.

When cloning from large size drive to small size drive, partition will likely need to be resized prior to cloning process. Results will vary depending on software used and your level of familiarity with the processes.

Considering current solid state drive prices, price per GB and performance difference, budget/pay the extra $30.00 or so for the 240-256GB solid state drives and skip 120GB.

• 57 months ago
  • 2 points

I have some of my steam games on a separate drive as steam and some games on the same drive - both SSDs.

• 57 months ago
  • 1 point

Nice thats why i asked, i read other wise. Thanks thats great to know.

• 57 months ago
  • 1 point